a Brief History of Historic Biggar in Clydesdale, Scotland.
has a cross-section of history in the one location. The roots
of the burgh date back for centuries: there is evidence that Biggar
Common was inhabited in the Stone Age.
received it's Royal Charter in 1451. It was created as a free
Burgh of Barony by King James III as a mark of favour to Lord
Fleming, the landowner. Biggar still has its medieval layout.
A few buildings date back to the 17th and 18th Centuries, but
the majority of Biggar's prominent buildings are Victorian. One
of Biggar's key buildings, the 450 year old Biggar Kirk, was built
by the Fleming Family of Biggar.
Burgh has many connections with famous Scottish
people, including John Buchan and Hugh MacDiarmid. It was
also the birthplace of Albion Motors, one of Britain's most successful
the vibrant local traditions and festivals it's hardly suprising
that Biggar has developed into a thriving community, with a range
of facilities and activities. These grew during Victorian times,
when the railway through Biggar (which originated from the West
Coast main line and ran through Symington, Biggar, Broughton and
on to Peebles) resulted in an increase in holidaymakers. The railway
line has gone, leaving only a scenic walk between Biggar and Peebles,
but people are still coming to the fascinating historic Royal
Burgh of Biggar.